Final Film – I now find myself here…

Having decided last night that I would not continue with my Final Film I started looking at experimental films. The creative freedom excited me but once again I needed to find an idea. I saw examples of of found footage films, Martin Scorsese’s Shaving short from 1967. The collage films also interested me and this reminded me of my first assignment which was a montage (that’s what my tutor called it, I didn’t know that when I created it.) Could I revisit and reuse the old family cine films…not really, I’d done that.

Then I came back to my discarded film. I had so much footage. From the planning stage, the early tests, some green screen stuff. Then there was the read through and tampering with voices to turn my voice in to a female (and to make it deeper). I had also developed a story. I had spent hours researching a song to use as the opening car scene to give the viewer a sense of the man versus machine vibe.

Could I still tell the story with what I had? Could I bring it together as a psychological film. The car was driving the protagonist mad. Making a film about a car driving the protagonist mad had driven me mad and I needed to get out.

I now find myself here…

Stick with it…I’m happy with the story but I need to simplify the moving images that accompany it. I probably need to reduce the dialogue to be more direct to move the story along.

The structure of my story follows a good narrative structure. I have modified the emphasis in some areas:

1. character is in a zone of comfort…Russell puts his latest salesperson award on display and heads to his car for work dialling clients and colleagues being arrogant and unlikeable.

2. but they want something…to win the salesperson award again and be recognised as the best at their job.

3. they enter an unfamiliar situation…Russell is late getting his deals in to qualify for the monthly award. Driving too fast and not paying attention he gets caught by a speed camera.

4. adapt to it…Russell needs to get a colleague, Gary, to admit the offence as Russell already has 9 points on his licence. He will lose his licence and as a consequence the job he loves.

5. get what they wanted…Gary is bullied by Russell to agree.

6. pay a heavy price for it…Russell’s car has been displaying strange characteristics during these events. The car suddenly takes control and converses with Russell. The car drives fast towards a speed camera. Russell pleads with the car to stop.

7. then return to their familiar situation…Russell is driving his car.

8. having changed…The car poses Russell speeding awareness questions. Russell is pleased when praised the car for getting the answers correct.

Reminders to self…

1. choose the right conditions for filming. Concentrate on good quality. Not too sunny, not even for the Heater scene.

2. Make use of gimbal and crane for montage shots.

3. Learn the lines for each scene in their entirety. Rehearse with Gary and Mrs Bradley. Then record them in the car using the car phone controls.

The latest script.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started